News: Dontrelle Willis Arrested For Drunken Driving

Well this isn’t exactly the rumors you’ve come to expect from this site but, I had to write about this. Apparently Florida Marlins ace, Dontrelle Willis, was arrested this morning on for allegedly driving while drunk. How did the officer know he was drunk? I’m so glad you asked.

Apparently, "An officer saw the former NL rookie of the year stop his black Bentley in the South Beach neighborhood, get out of the car around 4:30 a.m. and urinate in the street. Miami Beach police spokesman Bobby Hernandez said the officer noticed signs of intoxication as he approached Willis, who failed a field sobriety test."

That’s right, he pissed in the street. A 24 year old star baseball player making millions of dollars, managed to get himself arrested by peeing in the street. Fantastic. I’ve always been a fan of Willis’ play and personality on the field but this is simply unacceptable. For the life of me, I will never understand how a millionaire doesn’t simply call himself a limo. If you know you’re going out drinking, hire one before you leave! Sure it’s not your smooth looking Bently, but for crying out loud, its a LIMO! There’s simply never a situation in which anyone, not to mention a millionaire star player, can explain getting behind the wheel of a car while intoxicated.

In this case, Willis was lucky and didn’t kill anyone. In St. Louis, it doesn’t matter even if you DO kill someone. Star defenseman, Leonard Little, drove drunk and killed Susan Gutweiler, a wife and mother, and got off with 90 days in a city workhouse and 4 years probation. He’s still a millionaire star player and that woman is dead. Not only that, but Little was AGAIN arrested for drunken driving six years after causing that lethal accident. And yet, every Sunday, Rams fans all around St. Louis cheer for a murderer.

In my mind, Dontrelle Willis just fired a gun straight into a crowd. Luckily everyone got out of the way, however, actions such as this should NOT be tollerated by our society. I’m certainly no longer a fan of Willis and likely never will be. Unfortunately for people like Susan Gutweiler, star athletes will continue to praised and adorred by millions of fans (including judges and juries) no matter what their actions cost the rest of "normal" society.

7 comments

  1. redthoughts@nepablogs.com

    Well said–it’s unfortunate that we allow “famous” people to get away with things others could never. And the behavior is beyond disgusting…

    Good blog-let me know if you are interested in trading links..:-)

    Be well…

  2. zoopnova@aol.com

    eh, I’m not letting this affect my opinion of Dontrelle. It’s not like he went to a club and shot someone, nor did he smack his wife. He got drunk, not a big deal to me. I do agree about the DD sentiment, though.

  3. RumorMill

    you’re not letting it affect your opinion of the man? No he didn’t shoot someone or kill someone but that’s only by sheer luck that no one was in his way.

    Not only did he get drunk, but he got behind the wheel. That’s like shooting randomly around hoping no one gets hurt. Thank goodness he didn’t hurt anyone but that doesn’t excuse the action.

    To me, he should be charged with attempted 2nd murder because he knowingly endangered someone else’s (lots of someones actually) life when he decided to drive. He, and all other drunken drivers, have willfully and knowingly put others’ lives at risk and for that they should ALL be punished MUCH more severely than we do now.

    (Sorry but this is obviously a soap box issue with me. I have been lucky enough not to lose anyone to drunken driving but to any of you who disagree with me on this issue, or want to down play the magnitude of the act, just think how you would feel if Willis had accidentally struck and killed your mother, father, daughter, son, wife, or husband. Still seem like it’s no big deal if someone drinks and drives?)

  4. zoopnova@aol.com

    That’s awfully extreme. If you wanted to charge every drink driver with 2nd degree murder, our prisons would be even more overflooded than they already are, and we’d have to release rapists (who already do 3 years in our LOVELY and DEFINITELY NOT BROKEN legal system) to make room for them. Sorry, it’d be a waste of my tax dollars.

    So Dontrelle got drunk and made a mistake. You can play the “What If” game all you want, but here’s the facts: he pissed in a street after getting drunk, got caught and humiliated. That’s the facts. Did he hit a bunch of kids walking to school? No, he didn’t, so there’s no reason to charge a man for a murder that was never committed.

    Beyond that, my family knew the woman that Leonard Little killed in a drunk driving case in St. Louis. She was a heinous *****, and Leonard did 2 years in state. WOW! Two years for killing someone! Now he’s out of jail and making millions of dollars playing football as a pro-bowl Defensive End. Justice is served.

  5. podjah@yahoo.com

    Wow Zoop…
    I’m fairly certain you are sincere here… and that’s what makes the following so shocking to me. I didn’t think I could really loose all respect for someone before I’ve met them, but you have proven me wrong. I don’t think I have to retype anything to make my point. I can say this, my “justice” system after loosing a good friend to a DD and then loosing my cousin as she was driving drunk remains the same. Rumor has it right, stronger penalties are required.

Leave a Reply

